Workshop & Garage Project

rockits

Well I have started the first of two projects. The first is to rework & extend the stables a bit and make it into a nice workshop/garage. The second will be to extend the garage.

Good start today. Disconnected all existing lighting cabling. Laid row of bricks for base plate. Managed to remove a section of the existing stable face to be moved forward. Will do the same with the other two sections. Idea is to take the 3 single stable doors and make a double set for driving cars in/out with a single door for pedestrian entry/exit.

My dad was a plasterer by trade and builder for many years. I have been on-site with from 8 years old & always helped him a great deal on any home projects/builds/extensions. Never laid a brick in my life although I have knocked up a ton of gear labouring for him many times.

The stables will become a workshop and garage for 1-2 cars. Doing this with my brother in law and we will take on a project car maybe a kit car build now or after when complete.

I have no idea if people are interested or not but will post our progress & some pics along the way. Hopefully by the end of the year we will have space for 5 cars garaged. Looking forward to the end but I'm sure it will be a reasonably long road.

Wack61

I've started a big for me project , so far I've filled 2 x 8 yd skips with about 15t of soil using a shovel and a wheelbarrow , when the orangerie is built I'll be having a go at flagging (northern for laying paving slabs) so well done for having a go, plenty get a man in , I was quoted 2k for the groundwork , stuff that, it's almost done for free apart from the skip hire £350

safrane

Great work the two of you.

Darren...no need for the gym for a while I guess.

Rockits...great recycling of the old building. Charlie and I are looking at places in the sticks and I have seen loads with similar equestrian facilities and thought what a waste for us.